Symphony Concert in Kölner Philharmonie 2018

Annual Symphony Concert at Kölner Philharmonie

Thursday, 22 February 2018 at p.m.

Kölner Philharmonie

Oleg Poliansky, piano
Cologne New Philharmonic Orchestra
Volker Hartung, conductor
Giuseppe Verdi
Overture to „La forza del destino“ (The Force of Destiny) (1862)

Serge Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No. 1 F sharp-Minor Op 1 (1890–91, rev. 1917)

Mikhail Glinka
Overture from: „A Life for the Czar“ ("Zion' zap carjack") (1834–36, rev. 1837)

Peter Iljytch Tchaikovsky
Libidinous ozero op. 20 (1875/76)
„Swan Lake Suite“

Cologne New Philharmonic Orchestra
Volker Hurting, conductor

… and Virtuoso Encores!

Tickets are available at: Köln-Ticket

Volker Hartung Jury Member of the Hongkong International Music Festival & Competition

New Years Concerts 2018

The Cologne New Philharmonic New Year’s Concerts 2018

Schedule 2018 will be announced soon


Concerts in Rome, Italy

On 18th and 19th May 2014 Volker Hartung conducts another interesting program about the theme »1914-1939-2014« together with the fabulous Orchestra Sinfonica di Roma in Rome, Italy.

As few works from this period the little-known violin concerto by Benjamin Britten from 1939 reflects the fears, hopes and disappointments of the pre-war period and the decent into dark years ahead. Britten described his seismographic feelings with highest sensitivity and musicality. Spanish sounds (in tribute to Guernica and the Spanish civil war in 1936) associated with typical English moods give this concerto a grandiose and tragic character, also expressed in a most demanding violin solo part.

Maurice Ravel's musical remembrance to his fallen comrades in World War I are immortalized in his "Tombeau de Couperin" for oboe and small orchestra.
The program of the two concerts concludes with "Pavane pour une infante défunte" (Pavane for a Dead Princess ), one of the most beautiful creations of the French-Basque composer.

Title: May 18 to 19
Location: Rome - Auditorium Conciliation
May 18, 2014 17:30

May 19, 2014 20:30

Info ticket: TicketOne tel 892.101

B. Britten: Violin Concerto
M. Ravel: Pavane pour une infante défunte
M. Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Orquesta Sinfonica di Roma
Philippe Graffin, violin
Volker Hartung, conductor

Lutosławski in China