Interviews and rehearsal excerpts

The concert is named after a female freedom fighter, a mother of two, who died in 2014 at the Battle of Kobane in the fights against the IS, Deilar Kanj Khamis, known by the nom de guerre Arin Mirkan, now a heroine with the Kurdish people. This great violin concerto is in traditional symphonic form, heroic and romantic in style. The British composer Andrew Webb-Mitchell is an exception as one of the most talented artists of our time. Soloist is the Russian-American violinist Elisabeth Basoff-Darsakaja, who already had an overwhelming success last February with the Cologne new Philharmonic Orchestra in the Kölner Philharmonie, conducted by Volker Hartung.
Please watch and see interviews and rehearsal excerpts of this most interesting project!

more infos at: and:

WORLD PREMIERE and CONCERT at the KÖLNER GÜRZENICH on 29th April 2018 at 5 pm
Tickets to the concert are now available at: KÖLN TICKET and at the box office at Gürzenich Hall at 3.30 pm on the day of the concert.

Dieses neue Violinkonzert ist nach einer weiblichen Freiheitskämpferin, einer zweifachen Mutter benannt, die 2014 in der Schlacht von Kobane in den Kämpfen gegen den IS starb. Deilar Kanj Khamis, bekannt unter dem Pseudonym Arin Mirkan ist jetzt eine Heldin des kurdischen Volkes. Das großartige Violinkonzert ist in traditioneller symphonischer Form komponiert, heroisch und romantisch im Stil. Der britische Komponist Andrew Webb-Mitchell ist eine Ausnahme als einer der talentiertesten Künstler unserer Zeit. Solistin ist die russisch-amerikanische Geigerin Elisabeth Basoff-Darsakaja, die bereits im vergangenen Februar mit der Jungen Philharmonie Köln in der Kölner Philharmonie unter der Leitung von Volker Hartung einen überwältigenden Erfolg errang.
Bitte sehen und hören Sie Interviews und Probenausschnitte von diesem interessanten Projekt!

Concert in Cologne Guerzenich Hall


Concert for Palm Sunday in Pilgrim's Center Schönstatt

Concert for Palm Sunday in Pilgrim's Center Schönstatt
Saturday, 24th March 2018 at 5 pm

Giovanni Battista PERGOLESI
Stabat Mater for Soprano, Alto, Organ and Orchestra

Joseph HAYDN
The Seven Last Words of Christ
„The Seven Last Words of Our Saviour on the Cross“ for String Orchestra (1787)

Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART
„Laudate Dominum“ for Soprano and Orchestra KV. 339

Susanna Martin, soprano Astrid Defauw, mezzo-Soprano


Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, one of the greatest Baroque composers, was only 26 years old. During his short life, he knew only the failure and at best partial successes of his musical creations. His famous "Stabat Mater" he created in the year of his death, when he was already very weakened. Pergolesi's work became one of the models of religious music in general.
Anyone who hears the "Stabat Mater" of Pergolesi finds therein a wonderful work of "sacred chamber music". And the Italian composer Vincenzo Bellini spoke of the work of his predecessor as a "divine poem of pain".
Undoubtedly, the Stabat Mater has secured the posthumous fame of Pergolesi. His everlasting fame emanated from France, where it was often played with triumphant success since 1749.
The Seven Last Words of Our Redeemer on the Cross was composed by Joseph Haydn in 1787. It is a passion music for orchestra. Thematically, the work refers to the Seven Last Words of Christ. It was commissioned by a municipality in Cádiz, Spain.
The mission was to compose seven meditative movements, one for each of Jesus' last words. Haydn himself declared this magnificent work to be one of his most successful.

For more than 40 years, the Junge Philharmonie Köln has presented its audience besides symphonic masterpieces, balanced and contemplative programs from the rich repertoire of the sacred works of great masters. Under their roof, a unique platform has emerged, which offers young professionals the ever rarer opportunity to participate in extraordinary concert projects beyond the limits of their studies and professional life. It is run by the Junge Philharmonie Köln eV, a charitable organization that supports the mission of the orchestra as a musical ambassador of a peaceful world through the integration of numerous foreign artists living in Germany.
It is the wish of the Junge Philharmonie Köln and its chief conductor Volker Hartung not only to offer musically valuable interpretations of the masterpieces, but also, as musical ambassadors, to convey to all people a greeting in the spirit of hope, friendship and peace.

Junge Philharmonie Köln e.V.
D-59581 Warstein

Reservations and Tickets:
Pilgerzentrale Schönstatt, Am Marienberg 1, Vallendar
Rathaus der Stadt Vallendar, Rathausplatz 5, Vallendar - 0651 - 97 90 70 • Haarmoden Hahn, Löhrstr. 56, Vallendar
Buchhandlung Reuffel, Löhrerstr. 92, Koblenz
Alte Apotheke, Hellenstr. 21, Vallendar – 01805 – 57 00 70
Rest tickets are available at the door on the concert day at 4pm

Annual Symphony Concert in Cologne, Germany

Annual Symphony Concert at Kölner Philharmonie

Thursday, 22 February 2018 at 8pm

Kölner Philharmonie

Oleg Poliansky,  piano
Cologne New Philharmonic Orchestra
Volker Hartung,  conductor
Giuseppe Verdi
Ouverture to „La forza del destino“ (The Force of Destiny) (1862)

Sergej Rachmaninow
Piano Concerto No. 1 F sharp-Minor Op 1 (1890–91, rev. 1917)

Michail Glinka
Ouvertüre aus: „A Life for the Czar“ ("Žizn' za carja") (1834–36, rev. 1837)

Peter Iljitsch Tschaikowsky
Lebedinoe ozero op. 20 (1875/76)

Cologne New Philharmonic Orchestra
Volker Hartung,  conductor

… and Virtuoso Encores!

Tickets are available at: Köln-Ticket